Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Aug 2 2024

2024 Norman R. Farnsworth Lecture | Dr. Elaine Elisabetsky

Annual Norman R Farnsworth Lectures

August 2, 2024

12:30 PM - 2:00 PM America/Chicago

Location

UIC College of Pharmacy, 134-1, and online (see link below)

Address

833 S. Wood Street, Chicago, IL 60612

The 2024 Farnsworth Lecture

https://go.uic.edu/farnsworthlecturelive

Cost

$0

The collegiate Farnsworth Lectureship in Pharmacognosy is hosted in memory of Norman R. Farnsworth, who was one of the College's most dedicated pharmacy educators and internationally renowned, transformational pharmacognosy researchers. His scientific and educational contributions relate to the chemistry, biology, and therapeutic properties of medicinal plants and natural products. The Farnsworth Lecture is hosted every year by the UIC Pharmacognosy Institute on behalf of the UIC College of Pharmacy (see History of Farnsworth Lectures since 2013).

The 11th Farnsworth Lecture will be held on August 2, 2024 (13:30 ET/12:30 CT/11:30MT/10:30 PT; 19:30 CET; UTC-6h; see world time zone map here), by Dr. Elaine Elisabetsky. The lecture will be entitled "t.b.n".

  • 2024 Farnsworth Lecture on Facebook: TBA

Contact

Pharmacognosy Institute

Date posted

Jun 21, 2023

Date updated

Jul 3, 2024

Speakers

Elaine Elisabetsky | Professor | Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre (Brazil)

Dr. Elisabetsky is a full Pharmacology Professor at Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul and a senior professor at the Department of Biochemistry. She has a long experience in teaching and research in Pharmacology, with emphasis on Ethnopharmacology and Neuropsychopharmacology. Her research focuses on the identification and characterization of psychopharmacology properties of natural products, derived from medicinal plants. She belongs to the editorial board of national and international scientific journals, and she acts as referee in the fields of ethnopharmacology, natural products, as well as neurosciences and chronobiology. Since the 1980s, she has belonged to the expert roster of WHO's Complementary and Integrative Medicine sector. Dr. Elisabetsky consults for pharmaceutical and cosmetics industries, with emphasis on valuing, making rational use and conserving socio-biodiversity and traditional knowledge. She is listed as inventor on three patents. Most of her many former graduate students are now university professors.