Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Mar 24 2023

2023 Norman R. Farnsworth Lecture | Dr. Geoffrey Cordell

Annual Norman R Farnsworth Lectures

March 24, 2023

12:30 PM - 2:00 PM America/Chicago

Location

UIC College of Pharmacy, 134-1

Address

833 S. Wood Street, Chicago, IL 60612

The 2023 Farnsworth Lecture

https://go.uic.edu/farnsworthlecturelive

Cost

$0

The collegiate Farnsworth Lectureship in Pharmacognosy is hosted in memory of Norman R. Farnsworth, who was one of the College's most dedicated pharmacy educators and internationally renowned, transformational pharmacognosy researchers. His scientific and educational contributions relate to the chemistry, biology, and therapeutic properties of medicinal plants and natural products. The Farnsworth Lecture is hosted every year, typically in late March, by the UIC Pharmacognosy Institute on behalf of the UIC College of Pharmacy (see History of Farnsworth Lectures since 2013).

The 10th Farnsworth Lecture will be held on March 24, 2023 (13:30 ET/12:30 CT/11:30MT/10:30 PT; 19:30 CET; UTC-6h; see world time zone map here), by Dr. Geoffrey Cordell. The lecture will be entitled "L.O.V.E. and the Future of Natural Products - Putting the Patient First".

  • 2023 Farnsworth Lecture on Facebook: TBA

Contact

Pharmacognosy Institute

Date posted

Oct 4, 2022

Date updated

Oct 31, 2022

Speakers

Geoffrey Cordell | Research Professor

Dr. Cordell is a world-renowned pharmacognosist and scholar with a vast knowledge in natural products ethnopharmacognosy and drug discovery. He obtained his Ph.D. in 1970 at the University of Manchester, and after two years at M.I.T. joined the College of Pharmacy, University of Illinois Chicago, from where he retired in 2002 after serving as a Department Head, Associate Dean, Interim Dean, and Assistant Vice Chancellor.  He is the author of over 600 publications, two books on alkaloids, and the editor of 37 books. He is an Honorary Professor at universities in China, India, and the Philippines, and a Visiting Professor in Malaysia (4 universities), Japan, Thailand, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, and Colombia, and a former advisor to WHO on traditional medicine. He is a Past President, Fellow, and Honorary Member of the American Society of Pharmacognosy, has received several international awards for his research achievements, and is presently writing two books on natural products research.  His research interests include alkaloids and their biosynthesis, ecopharmacognosy, medicines security, cyberecoethnopharmacolomics, natural products in the 4IR, and C.A.R.E. in natural product research. He has over 29,000 citations and an h-index of 81.